Monumental Digital Art “Giraffe meets Qilin”

MGM commits to nurture local cultural and artistic talents. The large-scale digital art "Giraffe meets Qilin" is a collaboration between MGM and Macau artist Eric Fok, transforms his decade-long art series and the commissioned technical pen drawing "Renaissance" from the "Art Macao: Macao International Art Biennale 2023" into a digital art journey.

MGM has been collaborating with Eric Fok since the opening of MGM COTAI and his works have been collected in MGM Chairman's Collection and displayed in the public space. Eric Fok excels in using technical pen and paper as tools to create intricate ancient maps, incorporating contemporary elements to explore the changes brought about by urban development. The "Giraffe meets Qilin" is Eric Fok's first digital masterpiece, extending the innovative concept of "ART-TECH” at MGM. It expands the realm of the public art space, transforming the Spectacle into a "360-degree art museum" by showcasing the ancient navigation map on Asia’s largest indoor LED screens. The fusion of antique navigation map with iconic architecture immerses the audience in a mesmerizing journey of cultural exchange between East and West and its transformation, spanning from the Age of Discovery to the present.

In the ten-minute journey, the artwork ingeniously integrates the giraffe art installation at the Spectacle and the signature giraffe element in Eric Fok's works as the starting point. Audiences follow the depiction of the Maritime Silk Road on the antique map drawing, sailing from Lisbon, Portugal, crossing the oceans, and arriving in Macau. It marked the history of Macau being the major hub of the world trade network from the 15th to the 17th century. Along the journey, iconic elements and figures from the Renaissance period, such as the armillary sphere, Botticelli's The Birth of Venus, Leonardo da Vinci's Vitruvian Man, and Michelangelo's The Creation of Adam emerge, witnessing the dissemination of Western culture, art, science, and technology.

Transitioning from the sea to the land, audience traverses the map that extends from Macau to the Pearl River Delta region and Beijing, showcasing various landmarks and features of the Greater Bay Area and China from a unique perspective. In the latter part of the journey, the focus returns to the Spectacle, highlighting the concept that the starting point can also be the destination. It reflects on the world's past and present, witnessing Macau's transformation in shaping today’s prosperity, and showcasing its important role as a vital node along the Maritime Silk Road and a gateway connecting China with the world.

This immersive digital journey invites audiences to engage in a timeless dialogue and discover Macau's captivating history through art, where East and West entwine in a symphony of creativity. In celebration of the forthcoming 25th anniversary of Macau's return to the motherland, the artwork embodies the "original + innovative" concept that transcends traditional art forms, contributing to the sustainable development of Macau's cultural and creative industries with trailblazing immersive digital technology as the medium. Looking back while aspiring forward to the future, it also expresses MGM's sincerest wishes for the prosperity of the country, fostering an unwavering commitment to patriotism.

  • Schedule: 3:10pm, 5:10pm daily
  • Duration: 10 minutes
  • Location: The Spectacle at MGM COTAI

*MGM reserves the right to adjust the schedule. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause and appreciate your understanding.

person

Eric Fok

Book a Room



Book a Restaurant

Dining Offers

“REMINISCENCES OF BARRA: A VISUAL JOURNEY” ARCHIVES AND ARTS EXHIBITION

MGM Macau
There are no available rooms for the dates selected.
MGM Cotai
There are no available rooms for the dates selected.

大型數位藝術作品《長頸鹿與麒麟之相遇》

美高梅一直致力培育本地文化藝術人才,大型數位藝術作品《長頸鹿與麒麟之相遇》為美高梅攜手澳門本地藝術家霍凱盛,將其超過十年的藝術系列及「藝文薈澳:澳門國際藝術雙年展2023」的委託創作紙本針筆畫《文藝復興》轉化為一場數碼藝術視覺之旅。

霍凱盛擅長以針筆作為工具來創作細膩的仿古地圖,並加入當代元素,探索城市發展產生的變化。 美高梅與霍凱盛一直合作無間,自美獅美高梅開業,其作品已被收藏於美高梅主席典藏,於公共空間展示。作品《長頸鹿與麒麟之相遇》為霍凱盛首個數位藝術作品,延續美高梅創新「藝術—科技ART-TECH」概念,延伸公共藝術空間,將視博廣場轉化成「360度的藝術館」,於全亞洲面積最大的室內LED屏幕將平面的仿古航海地圖數碼化展示。仿古航海地圖與時代標誌性建築融合,與觀眾開展一場從大航海時代至今東西方文化的交滙與變遷的奇妙旅程。

十分鐘的奇妙旅程巧妙融合視博廣場的長頸鹿藝術裝置,及常見於藝術家霍凱盛作品中的長頸鹿元素作為旅程的開始,隨著鏡頭的移動,觀眾可以透過針筆畫仿古地圖所描繪的海上絲綢之路,沿著葡萄牙里斯本,穿越海洋,到達澳門,開啟並成為15至17世紀全球貿易網絡中心樞紐的歷史;航程中相繼出現文藝復興時期的標誌性元素和人物,例如渾天儀、波提切利的《維納斯的誕生》、達文西的《維特魯威人》和米開朗基羅的《創造亞當》,見證了西方文化、藝術、科學和技術的傳播。

由海上轉向陸地,觀眾穿越一幅從澳門延伸至珠江三角洲地區直至京城的地圖,以獨特的角度展示出現今灣區及中國不同的地標和特色;旅程後部分再次聚焦在視博廣場中,首尾呼應強調出發點也可是目的地的概念,反思世界的過去和現在,見證澳門從邊陲到中心的轉變,塑造成今日的繁華景像,展現其作為海上絲綢之路重要節點以及中國與世界連接門戶的歷史魅力。

沉浸式的數碼仿古地圖藝術之旅以全新的角度讓來自世界各地的觀眾實現跨越時空的對話,在藝術中感受澳門東西文化交融的歷史魅力。適逢澳門將迎來回歸祖國25週年之際,作品以「原創+創新」的概念及超越傳統藝術的呈現方式,以前瞻性的沉浸式數位技術為媒介,助力本澳文創產業的可持續發展;回顧過往,展望將來,同時表達美高梅對國家興盛的美好祝願,傳承堅定不移的愛國情懷,意義非凡。

  • 時段:每天下午 3時10分及5時10分
  • 片長:10 分鐘
  • 地點:美獅美高梅視博廣場

*作品展示時間會按酒店實際情況作出調整,如有不便,敬請見諒。

person

霍凱盛

預訂房間



餐廳訂座

餐宴及佳釀

媽閣塘畔 逸光浮影——百年變遷及藝術作品聯展

澳門美高梅
您所選擇之日期沒有可預訂的客房
美獅美高梅
您所選擇之日期沒有可預訂的客房