Valkyrie Octopus Art Installation by Joana Vasconcelos – Homecoming to MGM MACAU with Cultural Treasures

  • Exhibition Dates: From now until further notice
  • Time:24 hours
  • Location: Grande Praça, MGM MACAU

The installation art Valkyrie Octopus was created by renowned Portuguese artist Joana Vasconcelos commissioned especially for MGM MACAU in 2015. It is also the artist’s largest piece of her Valkyrie series to date. Its Valkyries collection was inspired by Norse mythology. Valkyries flew through the skies, across the battlefield to choose the most valiant of warriors. Likewise, the elongated arms of Valkyrie Octopus resemble the tentacles of the Octopus grow from the main body of the installation and extend outwards to reach the Aquarium at the Grande Praça as if they were embracing the square and exchanging cultures. Traveled along the Maritime Silk Road, Valkyrie Octopus at MGM MACAU explored auspicious essences from all over the world. It was exhibited at various significant art exhibitions such as La Biennale di Venezia and brought back multiple best wishes from different cultures, as if a mascot returning and shinning with honor. The Chinese title of the work, Animated Dragon with Eight Faces, incorporates the blessing of affluence as the Chinese number of eight is a homonym for “wealthy”, and with a splendid blossoming wishing tree lit up by more than 1,000 LED lights, carrying the wishes of guests.

Valkyrie Octopus patches more than 4,000m of fabric with various colors and patterns, which is inspired by the Chinese tradition of patching pieces of fabric from hundreds of families, gathering blessings and wishes, as a prayer for comfort and bliss for our guests. Traditionally, the Chinese dragon is a symbol of fortune and prosperous health. The "canopy of glitters" with its luxurious gold and silver colors oozes celestial extravagance as if it were a gift from heaven. In addition, the fabrics in Valkyrie Octopus are decorated with the traditional embroidery technique of Nisa from Portugal, a craft that is passed down through generations of brides-to-be to fund their new families, hence a symbol of love in full bloom and perfect happiness. The upper part of the work was inspired by the costume of the French Can-can dance, manifesting festivity and vitality. It is also embellished with thousands of beads placed in a patchwork of patterns, shapes, and textures, bringing out layers and layers of infinite details.

On the ground, three Tetris of different structures created with contemporary Portuguese Azulejo (painted tin-glazed ceramic tilework) craftsmanship showcase the intricate art of Arabesque patterns, which in traditional Chinese art and craft symbolize wishes for health and longevity. Visitors are welcome to sit on the Tetris and explore hidden lucky symbols while immersing in the sculpture and architectural aesthetics of the Grande Praça.

Since its return in 2019, Valkyrie Octopus is exhibited on a long-term basis at the Grande Praça, expressing eastern and western cultures including but not limited to fortune, family wellbeing, love, health, and career, embracing well wishes for all aspects of life, radiating luck and fortune to every corner in MGM MACAU. It also celebrated the 70th anniversary of the founding of the People's Republic of China and the 20th anniversary of Macao's return to China, looking forward to a great future.

READ MORE

Book a Room

What’s Hot

MGM Macau
There are no available rooms for the dates selected.
MGM Cotai
There are no available rooms for the dates selected.

美高梅艺术装置«八面灵龙» 载誉而归 - 灵龙活现 八方聚宝

  • 展期:由即日起至另行通知为止
  • 时间:24小时
  • 地点:澳门美高梅 天幕广场

「八面灵龙」是2015年著名葡萄牙艺术家乔安娜‧瓦思康丝勒(Joana Vasconcelos)特别为澳门美高梅打造的大型装置艺术,亦是瓦思康丝勒历来规模最磅礡之作。其女武神(Valkyries)系列灵感源自北欧神话:女武神穿梭于云雾之中,飞越战场上挑选最英勇无畏的战士。同样地,「八面灵龙」像守护者一般悬浮在半空,多条触须自水族箱连绵延伸至广场四周,宛如将葡萄牙欧陆风情的天幕广场拥入怀中,文化交流的奇幻宇宙浑然天成。自于美高梅天幕广场展出后,「八面灵龙」走过海上丝绸之路,于多个重要的艺术盛会如意大利威尼斯双年展展出,并从旅程中搜来多种中西幸运元素,犹如艺术吉祥物般载誉而归。八字的谐音是「发」,带有发财的吉祥寓意。其过千盏LED灯犹如熠熠生辉许愿树,为每位来宾带来美好祝愿。

灵龙身上用上超过4,000米用色花纹鲜明的布料,活现传统工艺:包括以「百家被」概念缝制而成的灵龙鳞片;传统中「百家被」是收集来自各家各户的布料拼凑而成的祝福 ,寓意将每位来访的客人簇拥在百家祝福之中,温馨和谐;而龙在中国传统中被视为吉庆之物,代表吉祥与安康;此外,多个部位使用雍容华贵的金色及银色,从下往上看「金银满天幕」,仿如天降财运;还有部份是以葡萄牙传统尼萨(Nisa)刺绣制作,古时未婚女孩以刺绣技艺赚取资金并用以组织新家庭,是一份世世代代的传承,也代表着开花结果的爱情,寓意幸福美满;而顶部灵感则来自法国著名舞蹈康康舞(Can-Can)的服饰,喜庆舞蹈代表着欢乐活力;作品更用上各式各样的珠子拼凑出不同图样、形状及纹理作点缀,带来层出不穷的细节。

三座大型方块雕塑(Tetris)运用葡萄牙手工彩釉花砖 (Azulejo)拼接而成,绘上常见的葡萄牙和西班牙摩尔式图案如「阿拉伯藤蔓」(Arabesque) ,在中国叫做「卷草纹」,被视为吉祥图案,代表健康长寿,客人更可以坐在方块雕塑上,置身其中找寻更多的幸运祝福,感受雕塑及建筑美学互相辉映。

「八面灵龙」于2019年起载誉回归到天幕广场长期展出,将中西方文化中的各种幸运寓意,包括财富、家庭、爱情、健康及事业等的八方祝福遍布澳门美高梅,亦借此满怀喜悦同庆中华人民共和国成立70周年及澳门回归祖国20周年双庆之年,并向更好未来迈进。

更多资讯

预订房间

餐厅订座

限时优惠

澳门美高梅
您所选择之日期没有可预订的客房
美狮美高梅
您所选择之日期没有可预订的客房